Monthly Archives: March 2012

Dirty South just dropped his first episode of Phazing. It’s an hour long show highlighting some of the best tunes in Progressive House. It’s not really a mix, but an awesome listen for those looking to pick up some new progressive tunes. In the show Dirty South talks about his plans for Miami so for those of you going to Ultra listen up! I know I will be catching DS when he comes to Philly March 28th. Enjoy the mix and go catch DS cause it will surly be an amazing show! Info on the Philly show can be here. 

Track List:
1. Ingrosso and Alesso and Dirty South – Calling Phazing – (Dirty South Bootleg)
2. Nicky Romero – Toulouse – (Tommy Trash Mix)
3. Alesso – Raise Your Head
4. Arty and Matiesse and Sadko – Trio
5. Jerry Reikonis – Powahbunga
6. Michael Brun – Rise – (Dirty South Edit)
7. Trisco – Musak – (Eddie Halliwell Mix)
8. Zedd – Stars Come Out – (Tim Mason Mix)
9. Dirty South and The Usual Suspects – Arty Walking Alone with Scary Monsters – (Dirty South Bootleg)
10. Felguk – Jack It
11. Dirty South & Thomas Gold feat Kate Elsworth – Eyes Wide Open – (Felguk Mix)
12. Stardust – Music Sounds Better With You


Here we go BASSheads. Bassnectar just dropped this teaser track off his upcoming “VA VA VROOM” album, and it is a drumstep banger of epic proportions. If this is just the preview I can’t imagine the other tracks on the album.

SPIN did a great write up on it:

Bassnectar (Lorin Ashton) often gets lumped in with America’s dubstep faction, but he’s actually traveled a different path than most of his Left Coast bass brethren, from his origins in the breaks scene to his continued stylistic promiscuity. On “Ugly,” a teaser for his upcoming album VAVA VOOM, the hard-charging headbanger throws down the “drumstep” gauntlet, challenging ravers to keep up at 174 beats per minute.

“Ugly” moves like a Godzilla-scale lawnmower plowing through a fife and drum corps, opening with an extended volley of rapid-fire snare tattoos before striking an uneasy balance between half-time dubstep cadences and open-throttle drum ‘n’ bass. The bass is as monstrous as you’d expect, but the real action is in those marching drums, which lend a sense of motion you don’t get from stock breakbeats. Zion I member Amp Live’s 16 bars are a kind of PowerPoint presentation of the mayhem the track will inspire (“It’s gonna be kickin’ hard ’cause it’s ugly / ‘Cause people knock your ass down ’cause it’s ugly”), but, come festival season, you’ll be able to figure all that out for yourself.

VAVA VOOM is due April 10 from Ashton’s Amorphous label, and it features further collabs with Lupe Fiaso, ill.Gates, Mimi Page, Tina Malia, and Jansten; intriguingly, there’s also a song called “Pennywise Tribute.” (We can only hope that means a brostep version of “Bro Hymn.”)